## I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 122** 

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio
L.F. Kasperbauer

Mike Cruz
F. B. Aguon, Jr.
J. M.S. Brown
Edward J.B Calvo
Mike Cruz
Mark Forbes
R. Klitzkie
L. A. Leon Guerrero
J. A. Lujan
A. B. Palacios
R. J. Respicio
A. R. Unpingco
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating the Guam Medical Society on its 2006 Induction Ball, commending the 2005 Guam Medical Society executive committee and congratulating 2006 Guam Medical Society executive committee.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MIN'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Guam Medical Society is comprised of about one hundred (100) physicians and Allied Health professionals throughout the island; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, the Guam Medical Society, through the leadership of its 2005 President, Vincent Taijeron Akimoto, M.D. is committed to providing the standard of healthcare that the people of Guam deserve through public policy advocacy and volunteer medical work; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Medical Society believes its solidarity and collective voice is stronger than when speaking as individuals alone; and

WHEREAS, two (2) of the Guam Medical Society's goals have been to educate physicians and the public about the medical implications of inadequate access to care and to address other important healthcare issues concerning Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Medical Society strongly advocates increasing the number of insured individuals in our community by providing incomerelated tax credits for the purchase of health insurance; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Medical Society promotes careers in healthrelated fields and maintains a link with the University of Guam's nursing school, creating a pool of healthcare professionals to both treat and educate individuals in the areas of need established by the college, and offers clinical externships to student nurses; and

WHEREAS, monthly meetings of the Guam Medical Society provide a forum for island healthcare practitioners to exchange ideas, collaborate, and

- 1 foster understanding, that also include continuing medical education lectures
- 2 for physicians of Guam and Micronesia; and
- 3 WHEREAS, the Guam Medical Society elected its 2006 executive
- 4 committee President, Geoffrey Galgo, M.D.; immediate past President Vincent
- 5 Taijeron Akimoto, M.D.; President-Elect, Nathaniel Berg, M.D.; Secretary
- 6 Mohammad Madantschi, M.D.; Treasurer, Teresa Damian, D.P.M.; Member-
- 7 at-Large, Saied Safabakhsh, M.D.; Member-at-Large, Lisa Flores, M.D.; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the physicians and Allied Health Professionals of the Guam
- 9 Medical Society continue to work to solve island's medical problems; now be
- 10 it further
- 11 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Ocho Na
- 12 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 13 people of Guam, commend the 2005 Guam Medical Society executive
- 14 committee and its members for their outstanding contributions to promote a
- 15 better society and educate the community about healthcare issues for the
- 16 people of Guam; and be it further
- 17 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na
- 18 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf I Liheslaturan Guåhan of the people
- 19 of Guam, commend the 2005 Guam Medical Society executive committee
- 20 President, Vincent Taijeron Akimoto, M.D.; immediate past President, John
- 21 Ray Taitano, M.D.; President-Elect Geoffrey Galgo, M.D.; Secretary, Joel Marc
- 22 C. Rubio, M.D.; Treasurer, Mohammad Madantschi, M.D.; Member-at-Large
- 23 Bevan Geslani, M.D.; Member-at-Large Saied Safabakhsh, M.D. and
- 24 congratulate the newly-elected 2006 Guam Medical Society Executive
- 25 Committee President, Geoffrey Galgo, M.D.; immediate past President

- Vincent Taijeron Akimoto, M.D.; President-Elect, Nathaniel Berg, M.D.; 1
- 2 Secretary Mohammad Madantschi, M.D.; Treasurer, Teresa Damian, D.P.M.;
- 3 Member-at-Large, Saied Safabakhsh, M.D.; Member-at-Large, Lisa Flores,
- 4 M.D.; and be it further
- 5 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Executive Committee certify, and
- the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies 6
- 7 of the same be thereafter transmitted to transmitted to the 2005 Guam Medical
- 8 Society Executive Committee President, Vincent Taijeron Akimoto, M.D.;
- 9 immediate past President, John Ray Taitano, M.D.; President-Elect Geoffrey
- Galgo, M.D.; Secretary, Joel Marc C. Rubio, M.D.; Treasurer, Mohammad 10
- 11 Madantschi, M.D.; Member-At-Large Bevan Geslani, M.D.; Member-At-Large
- 12 Saied Safabakhsh, M.D. and congratulate the newly-elected 2006 Guam
- 13 Medical Society executive committee President, Geoffrey Galgo, M.D.;
- immediate post President Vincent Taijeron Akimoto, M.D.; President-Elect, 14
- Nathaniel Berg, M.D.; Secretary Mohammad Madantschi, M.D.; Treasurer, 15
- 16 Teresa Damian, D.P.M.; Member-At-Large, Saied Safabakhsh, M.D.; Member-
- At-Large, Lisa Flores, M.D.; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I 17
- Maga'lahen Guåhan. 18

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF IMINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS 19TH DAY OF JANUARY

2006.

MARK FORBES Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

**EDWARD J.B. CALVO** Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature